Morley Gunderson Prize

The purpose of the Morley Gunderson Prize is to recognize and honour current students or graduates who combine outstanding professional achievement with significant service to the Centre.

Nominations may be submitted by current students, graduates, faculty and staff at any time to the Director of the Centre.  A selection committee considers all nominations, and the presentation of the award is a highlight of the Morley Gunderson Lecture in Industrial Relations and Labour Economics, co-sponsored by the Centre, Department of Economics and Woodsworth College of the University of Toronto each fall.

This prize was established as a tribute to Morley Gunderson’s 10 years as Director of the Centre for Industrial Relations.  Morley’s career at the University of Toronto and the CIR began in 1971.  He was responsible for the design of the Master of Industrial Relations program in the ’70s and initiated the PhD program in the ’80s.  From 1985 to 1997, Morley served as Director of the Centre.  His fundraising initiatives in 1997 resulted in the establishment of an endowment fund of over $1 million for student fellowships.

The Morley Gunderson Prize is modelled after Morley’s own career, which exhibits outstanding accomplishments as a scholar and researcher in industrial relations, simultaneous with great contributions to the activities and goals of the Centre.

Morley Gunderson Prize Recipients

Year Recipient
2022 Jonathan Eaton
Zsuzsanna Lonti
Steven Wald
2021 Tingting Zhang
2020 Lorraine Sixto
2019 Jeanette May
Susan Sperling
2018 Rodney C. Cook
2017 Clara Addo-Bekoe
Michael Villeneuve
2016 Douglas Hyatt
2015 Stephen Bedard
2014 Rajesh Uttamchandani
2013 Sara Slinn
2012 Maurice Mazerolle
2011 Mike Pedersen
2010 David Doorey
2009 John Mastoras
2008 Tracey Mill
2007 Robert Hebdon
2006 Trish Anderson
2005 Alex Dagg
2004 Richard Dixon
2003 Armine Yalnizyan
2002 Evelyn S. Wong
2001 Alan D. Levy
2000 Marcia Cardamore
1999 Brad K. James
1998 George C.B. Smith